NaPoWriMo Day 16 (Day 23 for Everybody Else)

Today’s poem is loosely–very loosely–inspired by Maureen Thorson’s Earth Day prompt to write about a plant.

SEEKING QUIET

On spring’s first short-sleeve day
I cannot escape

Grainy music seeding itself
through open-window stereos

Twenty-two high-pitched children
revving their joy

Mowers and leaf-blowers
and pressure-washers without number

Even the wind chimes
are barking and barking

I can hardly hear the chickadees
screaming Cheeseburger! Cheeseburger!

I seek and find silence
in the alder leaves’
slowly
opening
eyes

New Alder Leaves

New Alder Leaves

14 comments on “NaPoWriMo Day 16 (Day 23 for Everybody Else)

  1. sonofwalt says:

    Oh, this is lovely, and well crafted I think. I love how Chickadees and I love the same foods. And the barking wind chimes, perfect.

    • Thank you, thank you, Dave!

      That three-note BEEE-bee-bee is apparently the mating call of the male black-cap chickadee. (Wouldn’t it be nice if finding a mate were as easy as just sitting on a branch and yelling “CHEESEburger” to anybody who’s listening?) Cheers!

  2. Vince Gotera says:

    I love your lines “the alder leaves’ / slowly / opening / eyes” … so apt for the topic and the picture goes very nicely with it.

    I found you through your great comments on Marilyn Cavicchia’s blog. You may have noted that I featured her blog on mine.

    May I feature yours as well? I like your attitude about Day #s. Come to http://vincegotera.blogspot.com to see if you want to give permission. Hope you say yes.

    Then please leave me a comment on my most recent post. Or else leave a comment here … I’ll be back to look. Thanks!

  3. Doug says:

    Oh this fine pastoral poem thing…a mash of Grainy music and and somehow Cheeseburger..and Dave’s right..it’s lovely and muscular, or make that certain…probably both…I liked it.

  4. Thank you so much, Doug. I hadn’t thought of it that way, but your calling the poem “pastoral” gets me thinking. Maybe something like “Neighborhood Pastoral” would be a good title for the poem. Thanks for your kind and thought-provoking comments!

  5. Marvelous poem Jennifer! Very evocative and enjoyable, too. Blessings, Andy

  6. cupcakemurphy says:

    This is LITERALLY my favorite thing. How did you do it?

    • Well, I started listening, and then I started complaining, and then I realized my complaining was just adding to the noise, so I went for a walk. That’s when I encountered that little alder, and it put me right. (I know that you, as a sister tree-worshiper, get how that works.) Thank you, Cupcake, for reading & commenting.

  7. Alder leaves slowing opening eyes – very cool.

Leave a Reply

