NaPoWriMo, Day 15 (Day 22 for Everyone Else)

Today’s poem is in response to a hugely fun prompt by Rachel McKibbens. Her detailed exercise yields the sort of non-sequiturs that stretch even the associative logic of poetry:

CONVERSATION WITH  MY FOUR-YEAR-OLD

Why do you think your feet aren’t listening to you?
Playing shuffleboard on the deck of the Great Beyond.
Why was that forest not enough for me?
Spider, mistress, aesthetic missteps.
How come the President didn’t uncause that fire?
A brain the size of Texas, like Anne Carson’s.
What language of restaurant will this be?
The Beegees, Peter and the Wolf, The Chipmunks’ Disney Classics.
Mommy, do I have a backpack? Why does this Lowes have five signs? What’s “pressure”?
The smile of Julia Roberts.
Why is Grandpa unhappy at me?
Trail of breadcrumbs, what big teeth, magic beans.
Silly Mommy, if you’re sad Zonker’s going to die,
why don’t you just get another kitty that’s orange and white?
Bendy straws, rainbow pipe cleaners, torn trampoline leaning against the wall. 

* * * * * * * *

Yes, he’s a weird (and extremely observant) kid. This poem makes his mom sound even weirder! Thanks, dear Readers, for reading.

13 comments on “NaPoWriMo, Day 15 (Day 22 for Everyone Else)

  1. Very funny and cool! BTW, I love how you put (Day 21 for everybody else)! I am doing a “post a day” for National Poetry Month myself and found I was getting a little behind but kept going anyway…Good to know I’m not the only one!

    • Hi, Jamy, and thanks so much for reading and commenting! No, you’re certainly not alone in getting behind. I didn’t get started until a week into the party, and the NaPoWriMo registry lists over a hundred others who joined up even later! I think it’s the *keeping going*, this month and every month (though perhaps at a slower pace), that counts most. Cheers to you!

  2. “Why was that forest not enough for me?” Why, indeed? I really get a sense of your son here, and your interplay with him. You’ve captured so much detail, and it’s so real.

    • Thank you so much, Marilyn!

      He’s six now and still asks the most confounding questions. This morning it was, “If I have a helium balloon, can I use it for going fishing in the sky?” (I told him yes.)

  3. Doug says:

    Economy, Economy and giggles galore…says he’s four but more…and of course you can fish in the sky.

  4. dpbowman says:

    A family of metaphysicians.

  5. […] Here’s one titled “Conversation with my Four-Year-Old” that I wrote in response to one of Rachel McKibbens’s prompts: here. […]

  6. […] some really ingenious poetry prompts from Rachel McKibbens. I was inspired to give it a shot by Jennifer’s post here. Now, honestly I don’t usually like most of the prompts I find out there. It takes someone […]

Leave a Reply

