NaPoWriMo, Day Nine-ish (Day Sixteen for Everyone Else)

The prompt I used for today’s poem is actually yesterday’s from Robert Lee Brewer at his Writer’s Digest blog. He provides five words–slash, button, mask, strap, and balloon–to use in a poem. To me, it sounds like combining these particular words would yield a poem that belongs on … some other website. Here’s the (different) direction in which I took mine:

OF COURSE, SPRINGTIME

of course, springtime
masks other realities

tiny leaves of huckleberry
button themselves to the air
as though without stems

birches begin to unstrap
their apparently solid bark

the stink along the creek
balloons, in fact, from a yellow flower

cedar fronds, though soft,
slash the shade
with bright gloss

7 comments on “NaPoWriMo, Day Nine-ish (Day Sixteen for Everyone Else)

  1. sonofwalt says:

    Yes, totally turned those words around with metaphor! Love it when that happens. It’s like a professor of mine once said: “What’s a metaphor? Why, to keep cows in, of course!” Get it, meta, sounds like meadow… Well, never mind. It’s not really like that at all, is it? 🙂 I need sleep.

  2. Doug says:

    much good here but this really struck

    “huckleberry
    button themselves to the air
    as though without stems”

    neat

    regards,

    • Thank you very much, Doug! I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of how, for a few weeks in spring, those new leaves seem to hover in the air like nothing’s holding them up. This time around, I finally found a way to write about ’em. Glad to hear you liked–many thanks.

  3. Oooh, very nice! Do you ever post on Poetic Asides (Brewer’s blog)? I’m Posmic there. The truth comes out … Anyway, this is lovely, and you took those words (which, um, you’re right about) in a very different direction.

    • Well hello, Posmic! Thank you so much for your kind comment. No, I haven’t posted on Poetic Asides before; I only found it a few days ago, via chocolateisaverb.wordpress.com, while I was foraging for tasty prompts. But I know I’ll be going back there frequently, so I’ll look for your work!

Leave a Reply

