NaPoWriMo, Day 2 (Day 7 for Everybody Else)

Today’s prompt is to choose a color and then to “dye” the poem with that color.

Also, not uncoincidentally, Happy Easter.

Red

Easter week, post-mastectomy,
my mother asks me to check
the bandage over her incision.
Below her ribs I see the tube
draining fluid and blood
from higher up, where
her left breast used to be.
I hesitate because this is her body,
broken for R.J. Reynolds. This is
her blood, shed for Philip Morris.
Fifty years they pierced her inside.
Fifty more it will take me
to forgive them. Still,
she is up and around again,
just three days after
her surgery. Surgeon says
when the flow of blood
and fluid drops, he will pull
the drainage tube and she
will be free and whole, ready
for the rest of her life.

3 comments on “NaPoWriMo, Day 2 (Day 7 for Everybody Else)

  1. Beautiful and painful. A moving and fierce tribute to your mother.

    Thank you for sharing this.

    Sincerely, Andy

    • Andrew, thank you very kindly. My mother is strong as a rock. Me, not so much. So I write, seeking to create something positive out of my fear. I appreciate your reading.

      • You are most welcome. I wish you strength and healing. Have you read Refuge, by Terry Tempest Williams? It is a fierce and beautiful memoir. If you haven’t read it, I recommend it highly.

        Blessings to you, your mother, and yours.

Leave a Reply

