Paintings by Mary Lingen

Lake Hattie 11 by Mary Lingen

Lake Hattie 11 by Mary Lingen

Sometimes when I’ve been writing and writing until I can’t write another word, I spend some time with visual art, and I can start writing again. Isn’t it interesting how the nonverbal has power to fuel the verbal? Or, maybe it’s simply that beauty strengthens and motivates…

While browsing literary magazines to submit poems to recently, I was reading Shark Reef, a journal based in Washington State’s San Juan Islands, and became captivated by the stunning visual art featured in its issues. When I came across paintings there by Minnesota artist Mary Lingen, I had to see more, and clicked through to her pages at MNArtists.org. I’m excited to show you two of my favorites, from her Lake Hattie series, shared with Mary Lingen’s permission.

Isn’t it surprising, how bare winter branches can carry so much color?

Lake Hattie 10 by Mary Lingen

Lake Hattie 10 by Mary Lingen

To see more of Mary Lingen’s art and learn more about her work, explore her blog at http://marylingen.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/march-1-2014/. For visual and spiritual sustenance, I find myself returning to Mary’s paintings again and again.

Thank you for your marvelous work, Mary, and for permission to share some of it here!

Cheers,
Jennifer

10 comments on “Paintings by Mary Lingen

  1. mlingen says:

    thanks Jennifer. I’m very pleased to be shown on your site! Mary

  2. Reminds me of stained glass windows!

  3. Yes, what Andy said about glass windows. I had the same impression. The detail that goes on between all of those branches. . . amazing. Good idea for inspiration, thank you!

  4. I’m so glad you enjoyed these, David. I agree–the spaces between branches aren’t empty sky; they’re replete with detailed color.

  5. susanissima says:

    Gorgeous! I love the geometrics in Mary Lingen’s work. It never ceases to amaze me how so many poets are attracted to art or are artists themselves. Images, images, images.

  6. I love these pictures! Thank you for sharing them, along with your encouraging advice about spending time away from words in order to get more deeply into the words.

  7. Boosie Vox says:

    Verbal and non-verbal touch each other gently. You always have great insight, Jennifer.

Leave a Reply

